Germany

Germany has a long scientific tradition. Science has always been practically orientated, providing revolutionary inventions offering many benefits.

Johannes Gutenberg invented the printing press, Carl Friedrich Gauss revolutionized mathematics, and Carl Benz developed the first automobile. Wilhelm Röntgen developed the X-ray (in German: 'Roentgen rays') and Albert Einstein developed the theory of general relativity, which generalised special relativity and Newton's law of gravitation. Justus von Liebig discovered the pivotal role of nitrogen in fertilisers (manure) and Robert Koch identified the tuberculosis pathogen. Emmy Noether, one of the few women in her discipline, made substantial contributions to abstract algebra, Konrad Zuse invented the computer, while Otto Hahn and Lise Meitner discovered nuclear fission. The Nobel laureate Christiane Nüsslein-Vollhard discovered the genes which determine the majority of animals’ body structure. The lesser known Karlheinz Brandenburg developed the mp3 format.

German scientists have been awarded about 10 percent of all Nobel Prizes. Last in 2014, Stefan Hell received the Nobel Prize for chemistry. Since 1998, German scientists have been awarded five Nobel Prizes for physics, three for chemistry, and two for medicine.

Germany has a highly developed scientific system, containing more than 800 publicly funded research institutions. Outstanding scientific work is conducted at more than 400 universities and colleges. Currently, more than two and a half million students, eleven percent of whom are from abroad, are registered at institutions of higher learning in Germany. Most universities and colleges are organised within the German Rectors' Conference. On the pages of Higher Education Compass, information on the many partnerships between German and Israeli universities can be found.

Besides universites and colleges, especially the research institutes of the four great science organisations (see German Research Organisations) play an active role in research. In addition to that, there are a variety of independent research centers, and the Federal Republic’s and the federal states’ research institutes. The page Research in Germany provides a useful overview of the German research landscape.The Federal Ministry’s web pages provide further information particularly concerning the Federal Republic’s and the federal states’ departmental research institutes. Besides publicly funded research institutes, also a great number of privately funded institutions is located in Germany.

While engineering, chemistry, medicine, physics, and mathematics have always been the strong sectors of German science, German researchers are also actively involved in future disciplines, such as ecological research, information and communication technologies, neuroscience and biotechnology, optical technologies, and micro-system technologies. The humanities and social sciences are traditionally also well represented in Germany.

The hallmark of the science infrastructure in Germany are federalism and the division of labor between institutions financed by the government and by private sector businesses. Despite this division, there are many overlaps and interrelations. The federal government is responsible for the funding of scientific research and controls the fundamentals of science policy in keeping with the Framework Act for Higher Education. The federal states are principally responsible for the running of institutions of higher education.

In addition, the federal government is mainly involved by providing temporary third-party funding. The German Research Foundation is the central control mechanism for the distribution of third-party funds. Among others, it bundles research potential by establishing collaborative research centers. Another support program is the Excellence Initiative, which the federal government and the federal states introduced in 2005. In 2006, the federal government established an inter-agency high-tech strategy, which is continuously adapted to meet new challenges. The programme is mainly aimed at strengthening innovative power and ensuring growth and prosperity in Germany. Over and above these support measures, a 2014 change in legislation allows the federal government to promote also open-ended research projects of national importance at higher education institutions.

The federal government departmental research institutes in the areas of health, agriculture, environment, transport, and defense are independent of the research done at tertiary institutions.

Deutschland

Wissenschaft hat eine lange Tradition in Deutschland. Immer schon war sie zu einem wesentlichen Teil praktisch orientiert und brachte Erfindungen hervor, die das Leben der Menschen umwälzten.

Johannes Gutenberg erfand den Buchdruck, Carl Friedrich Gauss revolutionierte die Mathematik, Carl Benz entwickelte das erste Automobil. Wilhelm Röntgen entdeckte die (im Deutschen) nach ihm benannten Strahlen, Albert Einstein entwickelte die Theorie der Relativität. Justus von Liebig entdeckte den Dünger, Robert Koch den Tuberkuloseerreger. Emmy Noether brachte – als eine der wenigen Frauen ihrer Disziplin – die Mathematik auf dem Gebiet der Algebra entscheidend voran. Konrad Zuse erfand den Computer, Otto Hahn und Lise Meitner entdeckten die Kernspaltung. Die Nobelpreisträgerin Christiane Nüsslein-Vollhard identifizierte die Gene, die den Körperbau fast aller Tiere bestimmen. Karlheinz Brandenburg, weniger bekannt, entwickelte das mp3-Format.

Rund zehn Prozent aller Nobelpreise gingen an deutsche Wissenschaftler. Zuletzt erhielt 2014 Stefan Hell den Nobelpreis für Chemie. Seit 1998 gingen fünf Nobelpreise für Physik, drei für Chemie und zwei für Medizin an deutsche Forscherinnen und Forscher.

Deutschland hat ein hoch entwickeltes Wissenschaftssystem mit insgesamt über 800 öffentlich finanzierten Forschungseinrichtungen. Herausragende Wissenschaft wird an den über 400 Universitäten und Fachhochschulen geleistet. Aktuell sind über zweieinhalb Millionen Studierende an Hochschulen in Deutschland immatrikuliert; darunter mehr als elf Prozent aus dem Ausland. Die Hochschulen sind zum überwiegenden Teil organisiert in der Hochschulrektorenkonferenz. Über die zahlreichen Partnerschaften zwischen Deutschland und Israel informiert der Hochschulkompass

Über die Hochschulen hinaus sind vor allem die Institute der vier großen Wissenschaftsorganisationen in der Forschung aktiv. Hinzu kommen die eigenständigen Forschungszentren sowie Forschungsinstitutionen des Bundes und der Länder. Einen nützlichen Überblick zur Forschungslandschaft in Deutschland bietet die Seite Research in Germany; Informationen zu den Ressortforschungseinrichtungen des Bundes und der Länder finden sich darüber hinaus auf den Webseiten des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung. Neben den durch Bund und Länder finanzierten Einrichtungen existieren zahlreiche privat finanzierte Forschungsinstitute.

Die Stärke der deutschen Wissenschaft liegt traditionell im Maschinenbau, in der Chemie, der Medizin, der Physik und der Mathematik. Aber auch Zukunftsdisziplinen wie die Umweltforschung, die Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien, die Neurowissenschaften und die Biotechnologie, die optischen Technologien und die Mikrosystemtechnologie spielen eine wichtige Rolle. Nicht vergessen werden sollten auch die in Deutschland traditionell ebenfalls stark vertretenen Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften.

Die Infrastruktur der Wissenschaft in Deutschland ist geprägt durch den Föderalismus und die Arbeitsteilung zwischen öffentlich finanzierten Institutionen und der Privatwirtschaft. Die Bundesregierung ist für die Förderung der wissenschaftlichen Forschung zuständig und regelt im Hochschulrahmengesetz die Grundlagen der Wissenschaftspolitik. Der Betrieb von Hochschulen zur Ausbildung von Studierenden fällt grundsätzlich in den Zuständigkeitsbereich der Bundesländer.

Daneben engagiert sich der Bund vor allem durch die Bereitstellung von (zeitlich befristeten) Drittmitteln. Das zentrale Steuerungsinstrument für die Vergabe von Drittmitteln ist die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft, die unter anderem über die Einrichtung von Sonderforschungsbereichen zur notwendigen Bündelung von Forschungspotential beiträgt. Ein weiteres Förderprogramm des Bundes und der Länder ist die 2005 initiierte Exzellenzinitiative. Seit 2006 existiert außerdem die ressortübergreifende Hightechstrategie der Bundesregierung, die stetig an neue Herausforderungen angepasst wird. Aktuell zielt das Programm vor allem darauf, die Innovationskraft und somit Wachstum und Wohlstand in Deutschland zu stärken. Über diese Fördermaßnahmen hinaus ist es seit einer 2014 verabschiedeten Gesetzesänderung dem Bund möglich, auch unbefristet Forschungsprojekte von überregionaler Bedeutung an den Hochschulen zu fördern.

Unabhängig von der Forschung an den Hochschulen sind die vom Bund getragenen Ressortforschungseinrichtungen auf Gebieten wie Gesundheit, Landwirtschaft, Umwelt, Verkehr und Verteidigung.