History of the German-Israeli Science Cooperation

Half a century after the establishment of diplomatic relations between Germany and Israel, the collaboration in science and technology between the two states has reached an intensity which could not have been initially foreseen.

This increasingly close scientific cooperation contributed greatly to the normalisation of the political relations. Reparation was the Germans’ initial main motive. Currently, however, the cooperation between the high-tech countries Israel and Germany is on an equal footing.

Chaim Weizmann (1874-1952), the first president of the State of Israel and the first president of the Weizmann Institute of Science (WIS), which was named after him, realised that intelligence was 'the only raw material at our disposal.' In 1902 he already campaigned for a Jewish university in Palestine, which was realised when, in1925, teaching started at the Hebrew University Jerusalem. In 1934 he established the Daniel Sieff Institute, a forerunner of the WIS, in Rehovot, modeled after the German Kaiser Wilhelm institutes. The development of these and other outstanding science institutions in Israel could also draw on the immigration of German Jewish scientists who had to flee Germany in the 1930s.

Before 1933, scientists of German-Jewish descent played an important, and often formidable, role in science in Germany, as well as in the entire German-speaking region. From 1933 to 1945, the crimes of the Nazi regime brought these successful endeavors to a violent end. The German science community wanted to reestablish ties from those productive times before 1933 and, after the German Federal Republic had been established, sought collaboration with its former Jewish science colleagues.

From the start of the 1950s, there had been occasional contacts between Germans and Israelis at international conferences. The eventually break-through came in 1959 when the WIS issued an invitation to a Max Planck Society (MPG) delegation. In the course of this contact, the possibility arose for young German scientist to further their qualifications at an outstanding research facility abroad and the country thus not losing them permanently, which had happened with the migration of young scientists to the US since the 1950s. In turn, the scientists of the WIS – like their colleagues at Israeli universities later – hoped to extend the research infrastructure of their institutes through their cooperation with German researchers.

Contact between the MPG and the WIS was the start of a continuous and ever closer scientific collaboration between the two countries over the years. With the conclusion of the Minerva agreement in 1964, cooperation between the two great research institutions was finally secured.

May 12, 1965 is a historical date in the history of Germany and Israel: The beginning of diplomatic relations between Israel and the Federal Republic of Germany. While there had been scientific cooperation before, the contacts between institutions and the relevant scientists has become consistently closer since then.

Interministerial cooperation was started and increasingly intensified in the 1970s: The German-Israeli research collaboration between the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) and the Israeli Ministry of Science, Technology and Space (MOST) is based on an agreement concluded in 1973. Since 2000, this interministerial cooperation has been broadened to bilateral industry cooperation, based on an agreement between the BMBF and the Israeli Ministry of Industry, Trade and Labor (MOITAL, since 2013 Ministry of Economics).

The German-Israeli Foundation for Scientific Research and Development (GIF) has funded fundamental and applied research cooperation projects since 1986. A programme for junior researchers was established in 2000. In 1996, the BMBF developed the Excellence programme of the German-Israeli Project Cooperation (DIP) to support German-Israeli research teams; the German Research Foundation (DFG) has administered this programme since 2008. The Martin Buber Society Endowment Fund has offered scholarships for collaboration in the humanities and social sciences since 2010. The support organisations DAAD and the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation (AvH) have for decades supported scientific collaboration between Israel and Germany.

In 2008, the research relationships received a lasting momentum through the German-Israeli Science Year and the annual government consultations held since then. The German-Israeli Research Forum was organised for the first time in 2011 to further intensify collaboration. In the same year, the BMBF and MOITAL concluded a government agreement for industry-led research and development, as well as for vocational training.

As an EU associate member, Israel has participated in EU research funding since 1996. Businesses and research institutions have received funding since the 4th Research Framework Programme and are cooperating in the current seven-year programme Horizon 2020, which runs from 2014 to 2020.

The history of the collaboration in science and humanities is also reflected in a discussion between Dan Diner, Yfaat Weiss and Norbert Frei.

For further detailed information see the internet page 50 Years Diplomatic Relations Germany-Israel.

Geschichte der deutsch-israelischen Wissenschaftskooperation

Ein halbes Jahrhundert nach der Aufnahme diplomatischer Beziehungen zwischen Deutschland und Israel hat die Zusammenarbeit zwischen den beiden Staaten in Wissenschaft und Technologie eine Intensität erreicht, die in ihren Anfängen nicht vorauszusehen war.

Diese im Laufe der Zeit immer engere wissenschaftliche Kooperation hatte großen Anteil an der Normalisierung der politischen Beziehungen. Auf deutscher Seite stand zunächst das Motiv der Wiedergutmachung im Vordergrund. Heute besteht zwischen den beiden Hightechländern Israel und Deutschland eine gleichberechtigte Kooperation auf Augenhöhe.

Schon Chaim Weizmann (1874 – 1952), der erste Präsident des Staates Israel und zugleich erster Präsident des nach ihm benannten Weizmann Institute of Science (WIS), erkannte, dass die Intelligenz der „einzige Rohstoff ist, über den wir verfügen“. Er setzte sich daher schon 1902 für die Schaffung einer jüdischen Universität in Palästina ein, die 1925 mit dem Beginn des Lehrbetriebs an der Hebräischen Universität Jerusalem realisiert wurde. 1934 errichtete er den Vorläufer des WIS, das am Vorbild der deutschen Kaiser-Wilhelm-Institute orientierte Daniel-Sieff-Institut in Rehovot. Die Entwicklung dieser und weiterer hervorragender Wissenschaftsinstitutionen in Israel konnte sich nicht zuletzt auf die Einwanderung deutsch-jüdischer Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler stützen, die in den 1930er Jahren aus Deutschland hatten fliehen müssen.

Vor 1933 spielten in der Wissenschaft in Deutschland und im gesamten deutschsprachigen Raum Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler deutsch-jüdischer Herkunft eine bedeutende und oft überragende Rolle. Die Verbrechen der Nationalsozialisten von 1933 bis 1945 setzten diesem erfolgreichen Wirken gewaltsam ein Ende. Die deutsche Wissenschaftsgemeinschaft hatte daher nach Gründung der Bundesrepublik Deutschland den Wunsch, wieder an diese produktiven Zeiten vor 1933 anzuknüpfen und suchte die Zusammenarbeit mit früheren jüdischen Wissenschaftskolleginnen und -kollegen.

Seit Anfang der 1950er Jahre hatte es auf internationalen Konferenzen bereits vereinzelt Kontakte zwischen Deutschen und Israelis gegeben. Der Durchbruch gelang jedoch erst 1959 mit der Einladung einer Delegation der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft (MPG) durch das WIS. Im Zuge dieser Kontaktaufnahme entstand die Möglichkeit, deutschen wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs an einer hervorragenden Forschungseinrichtung im Ausland weiter zu qualifizieren, ohne ihn auf Dauer zu verlieren, so wie dies durch die Abwanderung junger Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler in die USA seit den 1950er Jahren beobachtet wurde. Die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler des WIS erhofften sich ihrerseits – wie später ihre Kolleginnen und Kollegen an den israelischen Universitäten – durch die Kooperation mit deutschen Forschenden den weiteren Ausbau der Forschungsinfrastruktur ihrer Einrichtungen.

Der Kontakt zwischen der MPG und dem WIS war der Beginn einer kontinuierlichen und im Laufe der Jahre immer fester werdenden wissenschaftlichen Zusammenarbeit beider Länder. Der 1964 geschlossene Minerva-Vertrag sicherte die Kooperation zwischen den beiden großen Forschungseinrichtungen endgültig ab.

Der 12. Mai 1965 markiert ein historisches Datum in der Geschichte zwischen Deutschland und Israel: Der Staat Israel und die Bundesrepublik Deutschland nahmen an diesem Tag diplomatische Beziehungen auf. Wissenschaftliche Kooperation gab es schon vorher. Seither sind die Kontakte zwischen Institutionen und den beteiligten Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern beständig enger geworden.

In den 1970er Jahren wurde die interministerielle Kooperation aufgenommen und immer weiter vertieft: Die deutsch-israelische Forschungszusammenarbeit zwischen dem Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) und dem israelischen Ministerium für Wissenschaft, Technologie und Raumfahrt (MOST) basiert auf einer Vereinbarung von 1973. Seit dem Jahr 2000 wurde diese interministerielle Kooperation auf bilaterale Industriekooperationen ausgeweitet, die sich auf eine Vereinbarung zwischen dem BMBF und dem israelischen Ministerium für Industrie, Handel und Arbeit (MOITAL, seit 2013 Ministerium für Wirtschaft) stützen.

Auf dem Gebiet der Grundlagen- und angewandten Forschung fördert seit 1986 die Deutsch-Israelische Stiftung für Wissenschaftliche Forschung und Entwicklung (GIF) Kooperationsvorhaben. Im Jahr 2000 wurde ein Programm für den Forschungsnachwuchs etabliert. 1996 entwickelte das BMBF das Exzellenzprogramm Deutsch-Israelische Projektkooperation (DIP) zur Förderung deutsch-israelischer Forschungsteams, das seit 2008 von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) administriert wird. Zur Zusammenarbeit in den Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften trägt der Stiftungsfond der Martin-Buber-Gesellschaft seit 2010 durch Stipendien bei. Die Förderorganisationen DAAD und Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung (AvH) engagieren sich seit Jahrzehnten für die Förderung wissenschaftlicher Zusammenarbeit zwischen beiden Ländern.

Nachhaltige Impulse erhielten die Forschungsbeziehungen 2008 durch das Deutsch-Israelische Wissenschaftsjahr und die seitdem jährlich stattfindenden Regierungskonsultationen. Zur weiteren Intensivierung der Zusammenarbeit wurde 2011 erstmals das Deutsch-Israelische Forschungsforum veranstaltet. Im selben Jahr schlossen BMBF und MOITAL ein Regierungsabkommen zu industriegeführter Forschung und Entwicklung sowie zu beruflicher Aus- und Weiterbildung.

Als assoziiertes Mitglied der EU ist Israel seit 1996 an der EU-Forschungsförderung beteiligt. Unternehmen und Forschungsinstitutionen erhielten seit dem 4. Forschungsrahmenprogramm Förderungen und kooperieren nun im aktuellen Siebenjahresprogramm Horizon 2020, das von 2014 bis 2020 läuft.

Die Geschichte der Wissenschaftsbeziehungen beleuchtet auch ein Gespräch mit Dan Diner, Yfaat Weiss und Norbert Frei.

Weitere ausführliche Informationen finden sich auf der Internetseite zum Jubiläum 50 Jahre diplomatische Beziehungen Deutschland-Israel.