Israel

Israel is a small country with scant natural resources. The country’s founding fathers, led by Chaim Weizman, Israel's first president, therefore focused on human intelligence and science as key factors. The Daniel-Sieff Research Institute, the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, the Technion in Haifa, and other smaller facilities existed before the founding of Israel in 1948. The state was thus able to build on these foundations.

Currently, Israel has eight officially recognised universities, among them the Open University of Israel (distance learning), and the Weizman Institute of Science (founded in 1934 as Daniel Sieff Institute). There is also a network of public research institutions, among them the Volcani Center for agricultural research and other centers for geophysics, oceanography, geology (Earth Science Research Administration [ESRA]), and biology (Israel Institute for Biological Research [IIBR]), as well as the Israeli Space Agency. Two ministries share responsibility for science: the Ministry of Science and Technology (MOST) and the Ministry of Economy and Industry (MOEI).

The Israel Innovation Authority (IIA) , an independent publicly funded agency, was established in 2016. It replaces the Office of the Chief Scientist (OCS) of the MOEI, which coordinated and implemented government policies to promote industry-related research, development, innovation and entrepreneurship. The IIA was thus created to provide a variety of practical tools and funding platforms aimed at effectively addressing the dynamic and changing needs of the local and international innovation ecosystems. The agency has an annual budget of around EUR 450 million. The Israel Science Foundation (ISF) supports excellence in basic research across all fields of knowledge primarily at universities with around EUR 160 million per year.

The scientific activity dynamic has increased in recent years, resulting in the accumulation of Nobel Prizes. In recent years, eight Israeli researchers have been awarded a Nobel Prize: Daniel Kahnemann (Economy 2002), Aaron Ciechanover and Avram Hershko (Chemistry 2004), Robert Aumann (Economy 2005), Ada E. Yonath (Chemistry 2009), Dan Shechtman (Chemistry 2011), and Michael Levitt and Arieh Warshel (Chemistry 2013).

Behind all of this lie enormous societal endeavors: According to the OECD 2018, Israel's investment in research and development was, againthe highest worldwide totaling 4.94% of GDP. Only civil research is taken into account. According to the Global Competitiveness Report 2019, Israel continues to be one of the most competitive economies again finishing 20th. For the innovation indicators, the country ranks 15th. The strength of Israel's innovation environment allows innovations to be implemented in enterprises exceptionally quickly.

There are relatively many high-tech start-ups in Israel. About 3,000, mostly smaller, research and development-intensive businesses are active in the country, of which more than one-third are IT companies. Communications technology, biotechnology, medical technology, and solar energy are the main industrial research and development activity areas. Extensive government funding, specifically by the Ministry of Economy, is the decisive factor in Israeli high-tech companies’ success.

The Israeli Centers for Research Excellence (I-CORE) is an initiative, which gradually establishes leading research centers specializing in a range of disciplines. The Centers of Excellence and the programme's vision are aimed at fundamentally strengthening the long term positioning of Israel's academic research and its stature among leading researchers in Israel and abroad.

Israel has been associated to the EU's research and innovation framework programmes since 1996. The agreement on Israel's participation in Horizon 2020 was signed on 8 June 2014. Israel is member of the intergovernmental network EUREKA and cooperating member of the European Cooperation in Science and Technology (COST), a funding organisation for the creation of research networks. Within the IIA, the Israel-Europe Research and Innovation Directorate (ISERD) is responsible for cooperation in the European Research Area.

The large share of private risk capital is also an important factor. Compared to the EU member states, Israel occupies the first position in respect of mobilising venture capital.

Its continuous high foreign investment, most of which still comes from the USA, reflects Israel’s attractiveness as an investment location. The high-tech and biotechnology sectors in particular remain the focus of strong interest. The foreign investors’ positive attitude is also based on the companies’ primary values, which are anchored in their patents and employee know-how and can be easily moved abroad in times of crisis. Siemens, SAP, Volkswagen, Daimler, Deutsche Telekom, Bosch Siemens household appliances, Henkel, BASF, and Bayer are the most important German investors. This commitment is reflected in research agreements with Israeli tertiary institutions and research units.

Israel

Israel ist ein kleines Land mit geringen natürlichen Ressourcen. Schon früh entdeckten daher seine Gründerväter, allen voran Chaim Weizmann, der erste Präsident des Landes, menschliche Intelligenz und Wissenschaft als Schlüsselfaktoren. Das Daniel-Sieff-Forschungsinstitut, die Hebräische Universität Jerusalem, das Technion in Haifa und einige kleinere Einrichtungen entstanden bereits vor der Staatsgründung 1948. Auf ihnen konnte der Staat danach aufbauen.

Auf israelischer Seite prägen vor allem die forschungsstarken staatlich anerkannten Universitäten und das Weizmann Institute of Science (1934 als Daniel-Sieff-Forschungsinstitut gegründet) die Kooperation. Außerdem existiert ein Netz von öffentlichen Forschungseinrichtungen, darunter das Volcani Zentrum für landwirtschaftliche Forschung und weitere Zentren für Geophysik, Ozeanographie, Geologie (Earth Science Research Administration [ESRA]) und Biologie (Israel Institute for Biological Research [IIBR])sowie die israelische Weltraumagentur ISA. Die Zuständigkeiten für Wissenschaft liegen in zwei Ministerien: Das Wissenschaftsministerium (Ministry of Science and Technology – MOST) und das Wirtschaftsministerium (Ministry of Economy and Industry – MOE).

Im Jahr 2016 wurde die Israel Innovation Authority (IIA) eingerichtet. Sie ersetzt das „Office of the Chief Scientist“ (OCS) des Wirtschaftsministeriums, das seit Jahrzehnten die Regierungspolitik zur Förderung von industrienaher Forschung, Entwicklung, Innovation und Unternehmertum koordinierte und umsetzte. Die IIA soll Förderinstrumente und Richtlinien zum Forschungstransfer sowie zur Lizenzierung auf den Weg zu bringen. Sie verfügt über ein jährliches Budget von ca. 450 Millionen Euro. Die Israel Science Foundation (ISF) fördert mit etwa 160 Millionen Euro jährlich primär Grundlagenforschung an den Universitäten.

Die Dynamik der wissenschaftlichen Tätigkeit hat in den vergangenen Jahren noch einmal zugenommen. Das zeigt sich etwa an der Häufung von Nobelpreisen. Acht israelische Forscher haben in den vergangenen Jahren einen Nobelpreis erhalten: Daniel Kahnemann (Wirtschaft 2002), Aaron Ciechanover und Avram Hershko (Chemie 2004), Robert Aumann (Wirtschaft 2005), Ada E. Yonath (Chemie 2009), Dan Shechtman (Chemie 2011), Michael Levitt und Arieh Warshel (Chemie 2013).

Dahinter stehen gewaltige gesellschaftliche Anstrengungen: Mit Investitionen in Forschung und Entwicklung in Höhe von 4,94 % des BIP wies Israel nach Angaben der OECD 2018 weltweit erneut den höchsten Wert auf. Berücksichtigt ist dabei ausschließlich zivile Forschung.

Laut Global Competitiveness Report 2019 gehört Israel nach wie vor zu den wettbewerbsstärksten Volkswirtschaften, und liegt erneut auf Rang 20 . Beim Innovationsindikator liegt das Land auf Position 15. Israels besondere Stärke liegt in seinem Innovationsumfeld, das eine besonders schnelle Umsetzung von Innovationen in Unternehmen ermöglicht.

Die Dichte der Hightech-Startups ist in Israel besonders hoch. Heute sind im Land ungefähr 3.000 überwiegend kleinere forschungs- und entwicklungsintensive Unternehmen aktiv, davon mehr als ein Drittel IT-Firmen. Schwerpunkt industrieller Forschungs- und Entwicklungstätigkeit sind die Bereiche Kommunikationstechnologie, Biotechnologie, Medizintechnik und Solarenergie. Eine entscheidende Rolle für den Erfolg israelischer Hightechfirmen spielen umfangreiche staatliche Förderungen, insbesondere durch das Wirtschaftsministerium.

Israel verfügt über 16 sogenannte iCore Center (Israeli Centers for Research Excellence): Diese Zentren verbessern die Forschungsinfrastruktur des Landes. Sie geben Wissenschaftler/-innen eine Plattform für intensive Forschung und internationale Kooperation.

Israel ist seit 1996 assoziiertes Land der EU-Rahmenprogramme für Forschung und Innovation. Die Assoziierung zum aktuellen Rahmenprogram Horizont2020 erfolgte am 8. Juni 2014. Israel ist auch Mitglied der europäischen Initiative für marktnahe Forschung und Entwicklung (EUREKA) sowie kooperierendes Mitglied der Initiative für europäische Kooperation in Wissenschaft und Technologie (COST) zur Förderung von forschungsnetzwerken. Für Kooperationen im europäischen Forschungsraum ist innerhalb der IIA das Israel-Europe Research and Innovation Directorate (ISERD) zuständig.

Ein weiterer wichtiger Faktor ist der hohe Anteil an privatem Risikokapital. Im Vergleich mit den EU-Mitgliedsstaaten liegt Israel bei der Mobilisierung von Wagniskapital heute an erster Stelle. Die Attraktivität Israels als Investitionsstandort zeigt sich weiterhin an den anhaltend hohen ausländischen Investitionen im Land, wovon nach wie vor ein großer Teil aus den USA stammt. Insbesondere der Hightech- und Biotechnologiebereich sind dauerhaft von hohem Interesse. Die positive Haltung ausländischer Investoren liegt auch darin begründet, dass der Firmenwert primär in Patenten und im Know-how der Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter liegt, die in Krisenfällen leicht ins Ausland verlagert werden können. Siemens, SAP, Volkswagen, Daimler, Deutsche Telekom, Bosch Siemens Hausgeräte, Henkel, BASF und Bayer sind die wichtigsten deutschen Investoren. Dieses Engagement zeigt sich auch in Forschungsverträgen mit israelischen Hochschulen und Forschungseinrichtungen.