Research Race for tomorrow’s energy sources – Germans and Israelis cooperate closely in the fields of battery research and nanotechnology

© bht2000 | Fotolia

Battery Research and nanotechnology are key elements on the way to electro mobility. The German Federal Ministry of Education and Research invests more than €250 million into relevant research projects each year – many of them are international collaborations.

Original text (2016): Ulla Thiede | English: Jennifer Bligh (several updates since)

“Battery research is a kind of Via Dolorosa,” says Doron Aurbach with a twinkle in his eyes. The Israeli electrochemist, surface scientist and chemical engineer at Ramat Gan’s Bar-Ilan University took the first step on his Via Dolorosa three decades ago. The gentleman with the black kippa and the white beard seeks to free mankind from fossil fuels as an energy source. Electro mobility is a step on this way. However, in order to replace combustion engines with electric drive in the long run, cars will need appropriate transaction batteries.

Researchers, the industry and start-up companies all over the world compete in a research race for tomorrow’s battery system – technology that is cheaper, safer, lighter and more compact than today’s solutions. However, until now, the capacity of one battery charge is too small, the energy density is too low and the life span is not yet satisfying. International collaborations are supposed to speed up a breakthrough. Governments worldwide invest into research, the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research alone supports battery research with about 500 million Euros in the framework of its overarching concept “Forschungsfabrik Batterie” (“Research Factory Battery”).

Aurbach is active in an international network: “Many of my partners are based in Germany. I started a longstanding cooperation with Merck in Darmstadt in 1996.” The German company had just started producing electrolyte solutions for batteries on a large scale. Electrolytes are chemical connections that serve as electrical conductive material – key to every battery. “The mere fact that such a huge company entered the field of electrolyte production is a breakthrough. It made battery research more affordable and saved laboratories all over the world a lot of effort,” explains Aurbach who also heads the ‘Nano Clean Tech Center’ at the Institute for Natotechnologies and Advanced Materials at Bar-Ilan University. Aurbach is also the leader of the Israeli National Research Center for Electrochemical Propulsion (INREP) which consists of 15 research groups from 4 academic institutions.

While lithium ion batteries are currently the most advanced technology for electronic vehicles, Aurbach’s team researches magnesium batteries, lithium oxygen batteries, lithium sulfur batteries and sulfur capacitors as well. “We achieved panoramic and comprehensive research experience in the field of energy accumulation,” says Aurbach who also closely collaborates with BASF. “More than one third of my research is linked to the Ludwigsburg-based company.”

The German-Israeli Project Coordination (DIP) and the German-Israeli Foundation for Scientific Research and Development (GIF) put him in touch with Joachim Maier, director of the Max-Planck-Institute for Solid State Research in Stuttgart and recently with Volker Presser of the Leibnitz-Institute for New Materials. The latest collaborative addition is a project with Martin Winter, head of the Battery Research Center at Germany’s Münster Electrochemical Energy Technology (MEET).

The transition to batteries, fuel cells or super capacitors in transportation are exit strategies for the use of fossil fuel in transportation,“ explains Ilana Lowi of the Israeli Ministry for Science, Technology and Space (MOST) and adds: “though the research community in the relevant areas is quite small in both countries.” At the top of the race are scientists and manufacturers in Japan, South Korea and China.

The first German Israeli Battery School for young scientists (GIBS) took place in October 2014 in Tel Aviv, followed by a second convention in April 2016 in Munich. The aim was to draw attention to research fields of alternative fuel technology and energy accumulators. PhD candidates of both countries discussed and shared their experiences with battery researchers of MEET, Justus-Liebig University of Gießen, Tel Aviv University (TAU) and Bar-Ilan University. The next GIBS is currently scheduled for 2022.

Emanuel Peled of TAU built a piece of history, as early as 25 years ago. “I was the first in the world to build rechargeable lithium sulphur batteries. But I stopped it because we had limitations with the durability, we couldn’t advance,” explains the battery researcher. However, a few years ago, Peled returned to this technology and is now continuing his research within the EU Framework Programme for Research and Innovation Horizon 2020. The HELIS-Projekt further consists of researchers of the German Fraunhofer Society, Max-Planck Institutes and the University of Münster. “We see progress on a monthly basis,” says Peled. Researchers publish significant numbers of articles: each month around 150 new scientific publications on lithium sulphur batteries are issued worldwide. These papers will launch the next generation of car batteries - in a few years’ time.

Nanotechnology plays a crucial role in the development of batteries and scientists have high hopes that this will lead to global solutions. However, nanotechnology is not a discipline of its own but rather a type of technology that is used in different fields such as medicine, communication, environment, traffic and nutrition. The word ‘nano’ literally means ‘dwarf’ and scientists deal with atoms and molecules. They research new materials that bear new properties due to the miniature size of the individual particles – the results are different materials.  

The German BMBF supports projects related to nanotechnology, also including German-Israeli research projects. Twelve joint projects started at the beginning of 2018. Both countries have invested around 8 million euros each in the three-year projects. The mid-term meeting took place in Bonn in February 2019. A final conference is planned for 2021 in Israel.

ELASTISLET is one of the nanotechnology projects that are financed by the European research program Horizon 2020. Yuval Dor, biologist at the Hebrew University in Jerusalem explains their project: “We research cell therapies for diabetes. Our aim is to find capsule material for beta cells that were cultivated from stem cells or brain-dead patients.” Beta cells produce insulin in healthy bodies while diabetes patients lack insulin. The idea is to transplant beta cells. “In order to avoid any kind of rejection through the immune system our consortium researches nano material that covers the new cells.” Via ELASTISLET Dor is in touch with the German company Axiogenesis in Cologne.

Germany’s Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, Europe’s largest application-oriented research organization, is highly interested in the new German-Israeli nanotechnological research program. Adelheid Adam, who is responsible for the North African and Middle Eastern business development, states that the society’s yield with Israel doubled in 2015 compared to the previous year. However, collaborations are not limited to nanotechnology but include battery research (see HELIS) as well. In addition to the EU funding programmes, Fraunhofer also benefits from the interministerial collaboration (BMBF-ECONOMY-MOST) with Israel.

Israeli and German scientists had a joint brainstorming session at the next colloquium of the Alexander-von-Humboldt Foundation in Tel Aviv from 21-23 September 2016. The conference’s title: ‘Bridges to the Future: German-Israeli Scientific Relations’. According to AvHS-president Professor Helmut Schwarz, the foundation has supported 297 Israeli Humboldt scholars since the late 1950s. “It is impressive that the proportion of Israeli laureates is above average; still, the foundation would welcome an even higher number of Israeli Early Career Researchers,” explains Schwarz.

Until 2019, the Minerva Foundation's Arches Award for Research Cooperation and High Excellence in Science supported two teams of young German-Israeli researchers per year. Each team was awarded €200000. In 2019, the laureates were the research teams of Dr. Miriam Goldstein, Hebrew University and Prof. Ronny Vollandt, LMU Munich; Prof. Rafal Klajn, Weizmann Institute and Prof. Andreas Walther, University of Freiburg;  and Prof. Asya Rolls, Technion, Haifa and Dr. Ozgun Gokce, LMU Munich.

„Israel is a small country,“ says battery researcher Aurbach in response to the question why they collaborate with Germany. A small country needs strong partners, even though Israel will never be able to compete with Asia when it comes to battery production. This said, Aurbach considers the attempt almost philanthropic: “We aim to develop science that will progress mankind into electro mobility.” The only remaining question seems to be therefore: who is going to do the quantum leap in the end.

Forschungswettlauf um die Energiespeicher von morgen – Deutsche und Israelis kooperieren eng in Batterieforschung und Nanotechnologie

© bht 2000 | Fotolia

Batterieforschung und Nanotechnologie sind Schlüsselfelder auf dem Weg zur Elektromobilität. Das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung stellt jährlich mehr als 250 Millionen Euro für Forschungsprojekte in diesen Bereichen bereit. Viele Kooperationen sind international.

Ursprungstext 2016: Ulla Thiede (Text wurde seitdem aktualisiert)

„Das Entwickeln von Batterien ist eine wirkliche Via Dolorosa“, erklärt Doron Aurbach mit einem Augenzwinkern. Denn es geht hier nicht um Leiden, sondern um Leidenschaft. Die hat der israelische Elektrochemiker, Oberflächenforscher und Chemieingenieur Aurbach, der an der Bar Ilan Universität in Ramat Gan forscht, vor über drei Jahrzehnten entdeckt. Der Mann mit der Kippa und dem weißen Bart will der Menschheit dabei helfen, von fossilen Brennstoffen als Energiequelle wegzukommen. Die Elektromobilität ist dabei ein Mittel zum Ziel. Doch wer den Verbrennungsmotor durch den Elektroantrieb dauerhaft ersetzen will, braucht geeignete Traktionsbatterien.    

Weltweit wetteifern Forscher, Industrie und Startups darum, wer das Batteriesystem der Zukunft entwickelt – kostengünstig, sicher, leichter und kompakter als heute. Noch ist die Reichweite einer Batterieladung zu kurz, die Energiedichte zu gering und die Lebensdauer nicht zufriedenstellend. Internationale Kooperationen sollen helfen, den Durchbruch zu beschleunigen. Regierungen stellen dafür Forschungsgelder bereit, allein das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung unterstützt die Batterieforschung im Rahmen ihres Dachkonzepts "Forschungsfabrik Batterie" (beschlossen Ende 2018) mit rund 500 Millionen Euro.

Auch Aurbach ist grenzüberschreitend vernetzt: „Viele meiner Partner sind in Deutschland. 1996 begann ich eine jahrelange Zusammenarbeit mit der Firma Merck in Darmstadt.“ Das Unternehmen stellte erstmals Elektrolyte in großen Mengen her, um sie zu kommerzialisieren. Elektrolyte sind chemische Verbindungen, die als elektrisches Leitmaterial dienen und Bestandteil jeder Batterie sind. „Dass ein solcher Konzern in die Elektrolyteproduktion einstieg, war ein riesiger Schritt, weil es die Batterieforschung billiger machte und Labors weltweit Arbeit ersparte“, erklärt Aurbach, der das „Nano Clean Tech Center“ am Institut für Nanotechnologie der Bar Ilan Universität leitet. Außerdem steht er dem Israeli National Research Center for Electrochemical Propulsion (INREP) vor, dem 15 Forschungsgruppen an vier Universitäten angehören.

Während Lithiumionen-Akkumulatoren derzeit die ausgereifteste Technologie bieten, um in E-Fahrzeugen verwendet zu werden, forscht Aurbachs Gruppe gleichzeitig an Magnesium-Batterien, Lithium-Sauerstoff-Batterien, Lithium-Schwefel-Batterien und Schwefel-Kondensatoren. „Wir haben eine panoramaartige, umfassende Forschungserfahrung bei Energiespeichern“, sagt Aurbach, der inzwischen eng mit BASF kooperiert. „Mehr als ein Drittel meiner Forschungsarbeit ist mit dem Ludwigsburger Unternehmen verknüpft.“ Über die Deutsch-Israelische Projektarbeit (DIP) und die Deutsch-Israelische Stiftung für wissenschaftliche Forschung und Entwicklung (GIF) verbanden ihn Forschungsvorhaben mit Joachim Maier, Direktor des Max-Planck-Instituts für Festkörperforschung in Stuttgart, sowie aktuell mit Volker Presser vom Leibniz-Institut für Neue Materialien. Seit neuestem arbeitet Aurbach mit Martin Winter zusammen, dem Leiter des Batterieforschungszentrums Münster Electrochemical Energy Technology (MEET).

„Batterie, Brennstoffzelle oder Superkondensator sind Wege, um im Verkehrswesen weg vom Öl zu kommen“, erklärt Ilana Lowi vom israelischen Ministerium für Wissenschaft, Technologie und Raumfahrt (MOST). „Doch die Forschergemeinschaft in den fraglichen Disziplinen ist in beiden Ländern relativ klein.“ Die Nase vorn haben Wissenschaftler und Hersteller in Japan, Südkorea und China. Um mehr junge Forscher in Israel und Deutschland für alternative Antriebstechnologien und Energiespeicherung zu begeistern, fand im Oktober 2014 die erste German-Israeli Battery School (GIBS) in Tel Aviv statt, im April 2016 folgte die zweite in München. Dabei diskutierten Doktoranden beider Länder mit Batterieforschern über ihre Erfahrungen. Beteiligt sind unter anderem das MEET, die Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen, die Tel Aviv University (TAU) und Bar Ilan. Die nächste GIBS ist für 2022 geplant.

Emanuel Peled von der TAU hat schon Geschichte geschrieben: „Ich habe weltweit als erster wiederaufladbare Lithium-Schwefel-Batterien gebaut“, erklärt der Batterieforscher. Allerdings war das vor 25 Jahren. „Wir hatten Probleme mit der Lebensdauer, kamen nicht weiter und haben die Experimente eingestellt.“ Vor einigen Jahren griff Peled die Technologie wieder auf und untersuchte im Rahmen des EU-Forschungsprogramms Horizon 2020 Lithium-Schwefel-Batterien. Am HELIS-Projekt sind von deutscher Seite unter anderem die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, Max-Planck-Institute sowie die Universität Münster beteiligt. „Wir machen jeden Monat Fortschritte.“ Und die Forscher veröffentlichen emsig: Monatlich, so Peled, erscheinen weltweit 150 neue Wissenschaftsartikel zu Lithium-Schwefel-Batterien. Sie sollen in einigen Jahren die nächste Generation an Autobatterien anführen.

Eine wichtige Rolle bei der Entwicklung von Batterien spielt die Nanotechnologie, von der sich Wissenschaftler Lösungen für viele globale Herausforderungen erhoffen. Sie ist keine eigene Disziplin, sondern eine Technologie, die in so unterschiedlichen Bereichen wie Medizin, Kommunikation, Umwelt, Verkehr und Ernährung zum Einsatz kommt. Nano heißt Zwerg, und bei der Nanotechnologie arbeiten Wissenschaftler auf der Ebene von Atomen und Molekülen. Dabei entwickeln sie neue Materialien, die aufgrund der Winzigkeit der verwendeten Partikel teilweise neue Eigenschaften aufweisen, die wir an ihnen in der normalen Größe nicht kennen.

Das BMBF fördert Projekte mit Bezug zur Nanotechnologie. Auch in diesem Bereich werden deutsch-israelische Forschungsvorhaben unterstützt. Anfang 2018 starteten zwölf gemeinsame Projekte. Beide Länder investieren jeweils etwa 8 Millionen Euro in die Projekte mit dreijähriger Laufzeit. Das Mid-term Meeting zur bilateralen Bekanntmachung fand im Februar 2019 in Bonn statt. Eine Abschlussveranstaltung ist für 2021 in Israel geplant.

Nanotechnologie kommt auch zum Tragen beim Projekt ELASTISLET, das über das europäische Forschungsprogramm Horizon 2020 finanziert wird. Der Biologe Yuval Dor von der Hebräischen Universität in Jerusalem erklärt das Vorhaben: „Wir erforschen Zelltherapien bei Diabetes-Erkrankungen. Gesucht wird nach einem Kapselmaterial für Betazellen, die aus Stammzellen gezüchtet oder gehirntoten Patienten entnommen werden.“ Betazellen produzieren im Körper von Gesunden das lebensnotwendige Insulin, das Diabeteskranken fehlt. Daher sollen diese Zellen den Kranken eingepflanzt werden. „Um eine Abstoßung durch das Immunsystem zu verhindern,  entwickelt unser Konsortium Nanomaterial, das die neuen Zellen ummantelt.“ Über ELASTISLET steht Dor in Kontakt mit der deutschen Firma Axiogenesis in Köln.

Als in Europa führende Organisation für angewandte Forschung hat die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft großes Interesse an dem neuen deutsch-israelischen Forschungsprogramm in Nanotechnologie. Adelheid Adam, die bei Fraunhofer für die Geschäftsentwicklung Nordafrika und Naher Osten zuständig ist, berichtet, dass sich die Wirtschaftserträge aus Israel 2015 im Vergleich zum Vorjahr verdoppelt hätten. Dabei umfassen die Kooperationen nicht nur Nanotechnologie, sondern etwa auch die Batterieforschung (siehe HELIS). Neben den EU-Förderprogrammen nutzt Fraunhofer in Zusammenarbeit mit Israel insbesondere die interministerielle Kooperation (BMBF-ECONOMY-MOST).

Im September 2016 hatten israelische und deutsche Wissenschaftler im Rahmen eines Kolloquiums der Alexander-von-Humboldt-Stiftung in Tel Aviv Gelegenheit zum Gedankenaustausch. Die Tagung stand unter dem Titel „Bridges to the Future: German-Israeli Scientific Relations“. Wie AvHS-Präsident Professor Helmut Schwarz berichtete, hat die Stiftung seit Ende der 1950er Jahre 297 israelische Humboldtianerinnen und Humboldtianer gefördert. „Besonders auffallend ist, dass der Anteil der Preisträgerinnen und Preisträger aus Israel überdurchschnittlich hoch ist. Die Stiftung sieht jedoch noch größeres Potenzial, israelische Early Career Researchers für ihre Programme zu gewinnen“, erklärte Schwarz.

Auf die Förderung junger Forscher zielt auch der Arches Award ab, den die Minerva-Stiftung jährlich an zwei deutsch-israelische Teams vergibt. Pro Gruppe beträgt das Preisgeld 200.000 Euro. 2019 gingen die Preise an die Forschungsteams von Dr. Miriam Goldstein, Hebrew University und Prof. Ronny Vollandt, LMU München; Prof. Rafal Klajn, Weizmann Institute und Prof. Andreas Walther, Universität Freiburg; sowie Prof. Asya Rolls, Technion, Haifa und Dr. Ozgun Gokce, LMU München.

„Wir sind ein kleines Land“, erklärt Batterieforscher Aurbach auf die Frage, was Israelis antreibt, mit Deutschland zu kooperieren. Da brauche man starke Partner. Die Batterieproduktion im großen Stil wie die Asiaten könne Israel nie leisten. Es sei fast eine philanthropische Einstellung: „Unsere Wissenschaft soll dazu beitragen, dass die Menschheit Elektroautos fährt.“ Fragt sich noch, wer den Quantensprung schafft.