14 Israeli researchers awarded ERC Advanced Grants

© Hryhorii – stock.adobe.com

Researchers from the Hebrew University, the Technion, Tel Aviv University and the Weizmann Institute to each receive 2.5 million euros in funding from the European Research Council (ERC). Among the winners of this year’s prestigious ERC Advanced Grants are 14 researchers from Israel, as was announced in April.

The European Research Council promotes cutting-edge research. Individual, outstanding scientists of any nationality can apply for project funding of up to five years for groundbreaking project ideas in the Starting, Consolidator and Advanced Grants funding lines. The Advanced Grants are each worth approximately 2.5 million euros, disbursed over five years, with an additional 1 million euros available in certain cases.

The grants are ‘among the most prestigious and competitive research grants offered by the European Union. These grants provide seasoned researchers with the opportunity to pursue ambitious projects capable of catalyzing significant scientific breakthroughs,’ the Hebrew University said in a statement announcing its three winners.

The Hebrew University recipients were Prof. David Kazhdan, from the Einstein Institute of Mathematics; Prof. Nathan (Nati) Linial, from the Benin School of Computer Science and Engineering, the Einstein Institute of Mathematics, and the Federman Center for the Study of Rationality; and Prof. Maren R. Niehoff, Max Cooper chair of Jewish Thought in the Faculty of Humanities.

At the Technion, Prof. Michael Glickman, dean of the Faculty of Biology, and Prof. Jackie Schiller from the Rappaport Faculty of Medicine received the grants.

The Weizmann Institute of Science had six winners: Prof. Irit Dinur of the Faculty of Computer Science, Prof. Mike Fainzilber of the Department of Biomolecular Sciences, Prof. Sarel Fleishman also of the Department of Biomolecular Sciences, Prof. Itay Halevy of the Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences, Prof. Michal Irani, dean of the Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science, and Prof. Rony Paz of the Department of Brain Sciences.

There were three awardees from Tel Aviv University: Prof. Yair Bar-Haim of the Sagol School of Neuroscience, Prof. Amir Shpilka of the Department of Computer Science, and Prof. Rafael Pass, also from the Department of Computer Science.

The article linked below offers a deeper look into the research of this year’s ERC grantees from Israel.

Source and full article: The Times of Israel